Freakin’ Unbelievable!

Have you ever seen sand and light create beautiful images?  No, I don’t mean while on the beach with a margarita in hand.  I’m talking really, just that, sad and light.

This has been posted and reposted and linked to all over hundreds of times I am sure, but I want to be part of that reposting and share a few thoughts.

The video below is stunning.  I found it by chance, but was floored when I realized just what it was.  A video clip from Ukraine’s Got Talent – this piece is stunning.  It is not a dancer.  It is not a singer.  It is not some fool on a bike who jumps from box to box.  This is an artist.  The artist takes the audience on a journey when her canvas – a light board – is projected onto a huge screen.  She says nothing, barely acknowledges the crowd, and does what every artist does best – creates.  She creates, and morphs her creations from one style and image to another, inspired by the (pre-selected) music.  A closer look at the lightboard she is creating on reveals that her medium is … sand.  I couldn’t believe it.  For the first four minutes, I really thought that she was using some sort of computer program.  But no, her art is just what art is – irreplicable, spontaneous, morphing constantly from one image to another.

I can’t remember a time when I began a piece of work and it stayed the same from the first stroke to the end.  Of course it didn’t, that would be impossible.  But even then, when the base is down, I am constantly changing it.  This video shows that process is a stunning, beautiful way.

And on top of all of that, the most exciting part of this video for me?  Art – visual art – is mainstream.  It captivated an audience, garnering and standing ovation, for over 8 minutes.  Television is typically not that forgiving, no matter how beautiful a piece of art is.  In fact, while at a Craft & Trade Show this winter, I learned that people were not that forgiving either.  The amount of smirks, stares and eye rolls I recieved there were unbelievable.  So, to see an artist captivate an audience while she creates on stage, silently, is fantastic.

Take a moment and share the beauty with a friend.  This is truly unreal!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Freakin’ Unbelievable!

  1. vajahat

    I love this how the woman does the art it’s amazing !!!

Leave a Reply

