Draft One? DONE!

To be quite honest, I never thought I would finish it.

In March of 2009, I started writing a manuscript for a young adult novel called “The Wrong Road”.  That’s a working title.  I’m not sure how I feel about it.  It was a way to fill up my not-working days as a supply teacher.  Life got in the way, it got pushed aside, I dabbled here and there but had more or less figured it had just been a little practice in writing longer fictional narratives and it would never amount to anything. 

I dove back into it over the Christmas break.  I also, as I mentioned last time, read some great advice on getting writing done.  I never thought I could be a scheduled writer, but, I guess if it’s in you, it’s in you.  Afterall, I force my students to write on a daily schedule, all the time, every day, always always always.  So if they can, then I can.  And I CAN!

I dove into tonight’s writing session a little weary.  I really didn’t feel like it.  I wanted to curl up on the couch.  I wanted to dust the awful looking stairs and clean the floors.  I needed to mud the new drywall in the new closet in the bedroom.  But, it would all have to wait, because I had committed, in writing, to writing for an hour, and damnit, I was going to spend the hour writing!  So I buckled down and did it.

And somehow, I tackled the most difficult scenes and completed the first draft of the book within 65 minutes.  It was a miracle.  Jesus must have been smiling at me and wanting to know how it ended.  I thought he could read minds, but when it boils down to it, I wanted to know how it ended too.  I had the gist of it.  But I didn’t really KNOW how it would feel at the very end. 

So now it is done.  I will revise it, add some new scenes, maybe change some things around, and fix up my grammatical and spelling mistakes, and determine where the chapters are.  But, the first draft is done!  The story has been told, beginning to end.  It’s amazing to be able to say, I finished writing my novel.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Draft One? DONE!

  1. vajahat

    Thats great Mr.P do you think you could read ut to us when your done the novel:):).

Leave a Reply

