Music Thursday

In addition to being addicted to writing and arting, my artistic interests also take in music, specifically songs that are unique and take on a life of their own, and covers that completely strip down and reinvent the original, while still respecting the original.  It’s like a remake movie: How the Grinch Stole Christmas – the cartoon version is incredible, but the newer live version, in my opinion, adds a new depth while still respecting the original production, and the story in general.  The same goes for Where the Wild Things Are, my all time FAVOURITE children’s story – or any story for that matter.  I was sincerely terrified to see the film.  I was worried they would simply ruin it and I would walk out on the verge of tears, passionately spewing hatred for it.  Instead, I walked out ready to write a thesis on the themes and arcs of the film and how a story with so few lines could be interpretted so perfectly into a 90 minute masterpiece.

Phew.  Now that that rant is over, I would like to share two amazing covers that I’ve discovered in the past 24 hours.

The first one is a cover of Cindy Lauper’s 80’s hit, “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.”  It’s by Greg Laswell.  I heard it while watching an episode of “Damages” (with Glenn Close, it’s amazing, you should watch it, it’s on Netflix, even in Canada!).  After searching for it on Youtube, I discovered that it was apparently in Confessions of a Shopaholic.  Not sure how I missed it, as I’ve seen that movie twice, but I guess my head was busy processing other things.

The second song is AMAZING.  It is a bit bluegrassy, quiet but intense, and beautiful.  I wish that Frances Miller (www.myspace.com/francesmillermusic) of Toronto’s Little City would cover this cover, because her voice would do an incredible job of it.  The song is from Grease (another personal favourite), You’re the One That I Want.  This version completely strips down the original, replaces the pop beats and colourful sounds with a much more mellow, almost sad (but not totally sad – the kind of sad where you’re happy, or on the verge of happiness), acoustic flare.  It is beautiful.

I hope you enjoyed – and thanks for indulging me in something other than visual arts and writing. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Music Thursday

  1. I enjoyed browsing through your site but didn’t know where else to comment but on the blog! Nice job! I couldn’t get the art portfolio to click open though. =( I look forward to seeing you throughout the internet-o-sphere and seeing where your writing, teaching, and art take you!

Leave a Reply

