PiBoIdMo Update

Children are honest.  Brutally honest.

I’ve been slacking a bit on sharing my ideas with the kids.  We’re so pressed for time in the immersion set up that I had to let something slide, and unfortunately it was this.  They were not happy about it and I heard about it every time I forgot to share or had to not share.  But over the past couple days, they’ve been extremely on task and productive, so I found a couple of minutes to share.

They were asked to give me a thumbs up to let me know if they liked the idea, or a thumbs down if they weren’t into it.

You’d think Justin Bieber had walked in.

These six and seven year olds literally cheered, whooped and waved their arms with thumbs up for most of the ideas!  (YES!)

But, one of the ideas was really more of a “boy” book – a superhero tale.  The girls were not impressed.  AT ALL.  They looked at me with one eyebrow raised, a slight attitude-frown and their thumbs bobbing down in a dramatic “I don’t think so, Mr. Patrick” motion.

I’m not sure if I have enough ideas yet, but I’m pretty sure I’m over the 30 quota.  I DEFINITELY have enough to keep me busy for a year at least – but I think that the idea-making part is the most fun.  Maybe I’ll just write a book of ideas.  Hey – there’s tomorrow’s idea!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

