The Painting Itch

I felt the urge to paint beginning to boil on Tuesday night as I drifted off to sleep. It’s been a weird month, filled with fresh stress (work, money, etc.), allergies and weird dreams, so I haven’t been sleeping well. I’ve been feeling under the weather and the buildup of all of those things collided this week. I slept for a solid 13 hours Thursday night, Friday night and Saturday night, and gave into my painting itch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As a result, I tried out 3 different styles of painting. The first involved a very therapeutic, unplanned squeeze of different paints onto a canvas, and a whole lot of satisfying brush strokes. Maybe I’m alone in this, probably not, but I find that when I strum away on the guitar or paint vigorously, my stress and anxiety is soothed in a big way. This is how the first piece all got started. I added crackle paint, and when it dried I layered over with some dry brushing. Loving the look, but unsure of how to proceed, I waited until today. Then, it burst onto the canvas: 4 simple flowers, each one a bit taller than the one before. I loved it. And so did a friend, because mere minutes after I posted a picture of it, she bought it. When people want to pay money for what you made out of paint and your ideas … the feeling is unbelievable. It really makes you feel worthy of the time you put into the craft.

I also started another painting this morning with a major focus on the crackle paint again. I wanted to see if I could come up with a cool looking alligator. After about 8 hours of drying and crackling later, I outlined the body and found myself pleasantly surprised by the little character on the canvas. I love it!

Finally, I’m in progress with a painting of peonies. This is one of those carefully-crafted, pre-planned paintings that drive me crazy because I can picture the outcome, but struggle to slow down long enough to get there. Nevertheless, I’m posting an “in progress” shot – a sneak peak, if you will. It needs a few more layers of thick paint and some carefully placed shadows and highlights, but that’s all being worked in with each layer.

During the craziest month of the year for teachers, I broke with normal tradition for myself, and painted. It was worth it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Painting Itch

  1. Ansel Adams said it best, i believe: “There`s nothing worse than a sharp image of a fuzzy concept.“ Working with the end in sight can truly be frustrating, but you got the gams to work it out, because it“s looking good already! «i really like the alligator,too. Cute dude.

Leave a Reply

