A New Approach

Where, oh where, have I been?

Image

Well. I stopped writing this blog for a bit (obviously). I was inundated with a wedding, report cards (which I counted for the time being as my writing, as uninspiring as they were, though very important pieces of writing for me as I tried to capture to magical transformation that each student went through over the year), and writing. So I stopped writing about writing.

Image

I got grumpy about writing about writing. It was mainly because I was reading a LOT of writing about writing and I was thinking, “This is baloney. I’ve never heard of these people and what they are saying is making me second-guess everything I do.”Β 

I was mad. I was starting to think that writing advice was stupid. Quite frankly, I kind of still do! That is, writing advice from writers who aren’t ground breaking, or published, or anything more than someone who says they are a writer because they have some ideas. Hey, that’s me. I have no right to give advice or offer any insight into writing.

So I am going to repurpose this blog a bit. I was getting a little excited about a manuscript before, and was using it to write advicey stuff. I don’t have the right to do that, yet. I don’t know enough. I have written a lot, but I haven’t even submitted in the last two years because I realized that it could be stronger. I knew it could be better.

I’m going to start writing about my writing experiences, thoughts and wonders. And, I might even migrate over to my proper website, which is running but under utilized.

I’m not expecting you to read this. In fact, it is just going to be my journal. A record of what I’m doing and how. Since I’m not published (well, I was published twice by a local non-profit, but when I say “published” I mean, published and widely available in stores) … since I’m not published, or proven, I am not going to pretend to be.Β 

If building a “platform” means to collect followers based on the hot air I can blow – I don’t want it. If you’re looking to empathize with a writer who is just like you and wondering after each character typed if it was good enough – then you found a place to do it.

I would apologize for having not posted lately, but you likely don’t care. That is fine. It really is! πŸ™‚ I’m not going to apologize though. Instead, I’m just going to try to keep it up more, for myself, and for anyone who is interested in the anxiety-ridden self-doubt of a writer who works a full time job and an extremely busy life.

Thanks for stopping by!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A New Approach

  1. Laurie Young

    Very well said Patrick… you are truly an inspiration. Keep up the great work and very interesting and thought provoking blogs. I look forward to them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

