PiBoIdMo2013

I’m doing it again!

Image

I really debated with whether or not to take part in PiBoIdMo again this year. It’s been a heck of a year, loaded with major house renovations, a wedding, a honey moon, a dog needing surgery, work-related stresses, giving a workshop (doesn’t sound like a big deal but it ate up a lot of time and energy although I am SO happy I did it), and then the everyday ins and outs of life. I’ve written 2 middle grade novels this year, and am desperate to get the second one fully revised and out before Christmas.

So I thought, “I won’t be able to do it!”

I’ve debated with who I am as a writer, and continue to. I know I have a wildly farty jokey side to my writing, and then a soft bedtime story side. I also have this middle grade thriller and adventurist in me. I also think there may be a few solid YA’s in me, a la weird teen comedy but dramady. I don’t know. I guess if I did, it would be boring. I LOVE Picture Books. But … I know that agents and editors tend to prefer to stick to ONE format. ONE voice. ONE style. Every writer and every “writer” thinks they can cut it in every market, right? I don’t want to be like that, but I don’t want to give up. I guess I’m afraid of actually selling one and then being ousted from the other. I want to be a name, and I want to be sold. I don’t want to be in the discount bin. This is one of the reasons I wasn’t going to participate.

BUT … The ideas are so beautiful. They flow out of me and I usually end up with five or six in a day. I can use it with my students, too. And some of them turn into novel ideas. Or at least chapter books.

This year I am setting a new goal for myself: Create (at least) 30 PB ideas, and then create a dummy for one of them. It’s time to market myself as the author/illustrator I want to be.

I’m going to post ideas (not THE ideas, but ideas), doodles, thoughts, and words here as much as I can over the next month. Hopefully that’ll get me blogging again and who knows, maybe even find a bloggy voice (I never know what to write or how to say it – who am I to tell people what to do? and also, what I’m working on is SECRET!)

If you’re a PiBoIdMoer too, let’s get in touch! Drop me an email and we can chat, or I’ll see you in the FB group! 🙂

~Patrick

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “PiBoIdMo2013

  1. It’s sounds like you’re busy, talented, and inspiring. Participants like you keep the ones like me going. Thanks for taking the time to share your PiBoIdMo story.

    • Thanks for the (VERY!) kind words, Joanne! 🙂

      Busy is a great adjective to describe me! I wrote my last post in the waiting room of my piano lessons (because I believe in ALWAYS learning and pushing myself forward, and it is just fun for just me and no one else!) In addition to my goals of writing down at least 30 ideas, blogging and drafting one (at least) PB Dummy (which scares me b/c I don’t know how to really yet), I am determined to network and meet some virtual folks this year! Hopefully, this activity will help me to blog more regularly!

      Good luck in PiBoIdMo!

Leave a Reply

