Google Image Searching

I’m always looking for new ideas, both as a writer and as an artist. Ideas, as we know, come from EVERYWHERE.

As I get into a new manuscript for a middle grade novel – at least, as I get into one that I’m trying on for size – I found myself point-blank uninspired. Nothing was getting through for me. I had blocked out a solid hour to write, and I was sitting there typing one letter, and then backspacing it away. I was beginning to feel like Jack Nicholson in The Shining … all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. All work and no … you get it.

Image

I decided that I needed to feel what the setting would be like. This story, if it ever sees the light of day, will revolve around a specific room. In order to inspire myself, I decided that my imagination needed a bit of a shake up. 

I used Google image search to do just that. It led me from one room to another, and then I started adding adjectives: weird rooms … lost rooms … haunted rooms … and so on. 

BINGO.

With the click of my mouse, just a few of these rooms, and the articles they were linked to, got my creative juices flowing. I flipped through some magazines, jotted down a few words (with a – gasp! – pencil) and I was off to the races. 

Now, I can’t say it was the solution to all of my problems. I don’t know my characters well enough yet to even begin writing the story. I don’t even know their conflict yet. But it’s a start. Now that I have the setting clear in my head, and a few ideas for some external conflicts, I can throw some characters into the world and play with them. 

PS: I updated my website a bit. Check it out! www.patrickg.ca – and share with your friends if you’re into it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Google Image Searching

  1. newdaynewthought

    This isn’t my blog or anything, and it may not be your genre, but it opens your mind to new things so I think you might like it based on your blog so far. Well done by the way 🙂 http://www.theteenageoverdose.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

