52 Weeks: Week 5

Hello!

I’m so scattered lately that it just took me about three minutes of pondering before I could remember what the name of this website was. Oi vae. It’s Friday night for sure.

I recently enrolled in Mira Reisberg’s Picture Book Academy course on the Craft and Business of Illustrating. This has motivated me ten-fold. I’ve been tightening up and loosening up (is that possible? Tightening up my approach while loosening up within the constraints of an approach, not that that makes sense to anyone but me). I’ve been sketching for hours each day, experimenting galore and receiving critical and constructive feedback from a fantastic group of critique partners. I am so lucky. Tonight during our big critique webinar, my character progress was one of the pieces critiqued by the instructor, Mira. She gave me fantastic feedback, and I had lots to work with from her on what to work on.

This character has undergone a NUMBER of changes. First, he was highly commercial and older and had darker skin and a very specific head shape. He also had a striped shirt. Then, he became a very young, simplified version of a little boy with wild, tilted hair (he was featured last week!). This version underwent a number of changes. Then, I perused my favourite picture books and sketched out what I liked. I noted the styles and approaches and looks that I loved and hated, then I went back to the drawing board, literally.

That’s when this guy was almost born. He was a bit more primitive – much lighter, very wide-headed, with a striped shirt in some of the work. He kept the hair from the middle version (the simplified boy) and the wardrobe (striped shirt) from the first attempt. I gave him glasses, and after tonight’s feedback, tightened him up even more. I need to continue working on the colour version, and determine how he will be rendered, but for now, here is my piece of the week. He’s my favourite, so far.

character sketches 9

1 Comment

Filed under 52 Weeks of Art

One response to “52 Weeks: Week 5

  1. It’s been fun and encouraging to watch your progress in this brave undertaking. I hope when you have completed Mira’s course you will post your overall thoughts on the value of the course. Keep creating!

Leave a Reply

