52 Weeks Update: Week 9 – No Update!

Well, well, well. So it seems that after a week of sketching and painting and experimenting, I am on a great path … but I am not going to share this week.

Disappointing, I know. (Did you note my sarcasm? I am sure your world hasn’t shattered because I didn’t post anything this week!)

Here’s the thing. I intend to make a go of this professional illustrating thing, and I just can’t bring myself to post what I’ve made this week, because it isn’t anywhere near good enough yet. I will let you in, however, on what I’m working on, and intending to post for next week, hopefully.

I decided to get festive. I thought, hey, self, create a Santa character that is both within your style and not typical/commercial Santa. Make him a little different, but recognizable. Make him your own. I tried and tried and sketched and sketched and painted and scanned and photoshopped and tried again. It didn’t quite work.

Here's a non-art related thingy. Kingsley met Santa for the first time! Here is my beautiful little family enjoying the holiday season!

Here’s a non-art related thingy but still related to my topic for the week: Kingsley met Santa for the first time! Here is my beautiful little family enjoying the holiday season!

A critique partner told me, “Don’t let yourself off the hook. Keep going with him, you’ll get there.”

So, I’m not letting myself off the proverbial hook. I am, however, not posting Santa yet because he isn’t reflective of what I can do. Yet.

I found this online somewhere and stashed it in a file. I recently came across it. It rings true, so so loudly. I hope you can do this, too.

I found this online somewhere and stashed it in a file. I recently came across it. It rings true, so so loudly. I hope you can do this, too.

I also played around with some kid characters. They were lots of fun, and I enjoyed them. Most of the things in my sketch book from the past few days are fun. BUT … not quite professionally illustrated enough to earn a spot in my 52 Week Challenge, which I am upping my personal expectations for.

In the meantime, here is a monster that I love, old as he may be.

Here's a monster I love. I love monsters - don't you? He's not new, but he's awesome.

Here’s a monster I love. I love monsters – don’t you? He’s not new, but I think he’s awesome.

Leave a comment

Filed under 52 Weeks of Art

Leave a Reply

